My First Press Pass – Birmingham MCM (19-20th Nov.)

Sorry for the late post, the explanation is here but I still want to talk about this event as it was one of the best weekends I have ever had in my life.

This was the first time I have ever been issued a press pass, so choosing the Journalism career path certainly, has its perks. I haven’t been to a convention since SunnyCon 2015, so it had been a while. I love nerdy things like that, even if they break the bank.

So the start of my day was very hectic as I had NO IDEA where the press office for the event was so after asking several members of staff I finally found it. I was issued with this fine looking thing:

press-pass

Such a shame that you can’t keep them.

The event was packed with cosplayers and merchandise beyond any nerd wildest dreams. And @joshcosplays‘s cosplay of Loki was definitely the stuff of dreams…

By far one of the best costumes I saw today #mcm #mcmbirmingham2016 #mcmbirminghamcomiccon #lokicosplay

A photo posted by Vicky Bentley (@vicky_bentley_) on Nov 19, 2016 at 8:36am PST

 

Also, to the guy who wore the same shirt as me and complimented me, if you happen to read this, thank you, you legend.

Our lunch at the overcrowded Wetherspoons in the NEC was very enjoyable and seeing the bikers from their convention mingling with the nerds from ours was actually a fascinating thing to watch and was followed by the UK Garrison storming through the convention hall. Fantastic.

Without a doubt, the cutest thing I saw on that day was the babies and toddlers in cosplay. I aspire to be a parent who cosplays with her children one day.

Overall, it was a fantastic weekend and I can’t wait for the next one.

Leave a Reply

