My Fear Of Addiction – Living with an Addictive Personality

Addictive personalities are very real things. They come with many forms of mental health problems as a way of coping with the effects of illnesses.

I have one but I’m scared of becoming an ‘addict’. This fear is what wakes me up from becoming it whenever I get close. 

I am well aware that it partners itself with my depression as I resort to alcohol and cigarettes as means of making myself feel better. As soon as I start to feel like I rely on them I make sure I pull myself out of it. 

What if one day I don’t? 

Plenty of people out there with addictive personalities become addicts whether that’s cigarettes, drugs or alcohol.  And it’s a dangerous game. I never want to be at the point where I’m not mentally capable to stop.

The reason why I’m writing this is because people need to realise that addicts NEED HELP. They have probably pulled themselves away many times before but sometimes it takes one thing to break people down and make them incapable of pulling themselves away from self destruction. 

Leave a Reply

