Journalism Ruined My Love Of Social Media!

As we are currently in the digital age, everyone seems to be more connected with each other through social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter etc. Well, I for one have always been a social media addict as I feel disconnected from the world when I have a lack of internet and find it hard to not spend hours upon hours before bed scrolling through memes that come up on my newsfeed as I tell myself a constant lie that “I will go to bed soon”.

As everyone who reads this blog surely knows that I go to university to study Media and Communications: Journalism and that is where this all started…

Day 1 of Journalism in Practice seminars offered me a window into how it would ruin my whole social media experience…

“You are all using Twitter wrong” – Ross Hawkes

How can you use Twitter wrong? – That’s a good question and it’s the same naive question I asked myself when he said that.

Basically, we need to use lists on Twitter to find leads for stories and obviously with production days here and having two deadlines a week, you can best believe that I have monitored lists that’re attached to any news outlet in the west midlands and now… I can’t stop!

Every time I go on Twitter I automatically check for leads… I have become some sort of Journalist robot.

“You always need to have your Journalism brain switched on” – Ross Hawkes

Yes, this has been the best advice anyone has ever given me when getting through production days… but what happens when they’re over? How do I switch off and relax for a bit?

I can’t.

There are some people in the class who don’t seem to be as bothered about the leads and sometimes can’t seem to find any, whereas I have had a few occasions where I have had multiple events in one day and obviously I can’t cover them all.

It hurts my head.

I just want a good nights sleep. And a hot chocolate. Don’t skip out on the whipped cream either.

 

Leave a Reply

