My October Movies

So since October has now passed and we are now getting into November I thought I’d share my thoughts on films I went to the cinema to see over last month (especially since Film Studies at A-Level seemed to turn me into a bit of a critic, thanks so much, Jodie).

  1. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

This was a film that I was extremely excited for. I’m a huge Asa Butterfield fan and anyone who says they don’t love every film made by Tim Burton is either insane or a liar.

The film is based on the novel by Ransom Riggs and is about a boy named Jacob who discovers clues to a secret that his grandfather tried to keep from him until his death. Upon trying to discover what his grandfather wanted him to know,Β  he finds Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, his grandfather’s best kept secret. The trouble is that the children are under attack by monsters that wish to steal their eyes but the danger deepens after he gets to know the residents and learns about their special powers.

I had high expectations for this film before going to see it and I certainly wasn’t disappointed with what I saw. There were so many twists and turns in the plot but it wasn’t hard to follow, that tends to be rare in films like that. I usually get lost.Β  I really enjoyed it though and would highly recommend it if you haven’t seen it yet.

2. Inferno

This was a spontaneous decision but one of the best films I’ve ever seen on a whim. I love conspiracy theory things, even in books so this, as you can imagine, interested me greatly.

This film was based on the novel written by Dan Brown, one of my favourite conspiracy novel writers. The story is about a man called Robert Langdon (played by Tom Hanks, let’s be honest, who doesn’t love his movies?) who wakes up in an Italian hospital with amnesia. He doesn’t know any of the events that put him there but when a police officer tries to assassinate him, he teams up with Dr. Sienna Brooks to uncover the dark plot that is said to ‘save humanity’. Together they must race across Europe against the clock to foil a deadly global plot to release the ‘Inferno’ virus into the world and kill billions of people in attempts to save lives because of an apparent impending population crisis.

This film was absolutely brilliant and would 100% see it again.

3. The Girl On The Train

This was a film that I simply didn’t like. This also comes down to personal reasons that effected the way I read the film as well as the terrible story line and shoddy attempt at a title. Obviously, I didn’t plan on seeing this film either but regardless I expected a better film than what I got.

This was yet another film based on a novel, this one was by Paula Hawkins. The story is about a divorcee, called Rachel who just can’t seem to let go of her past as she resorts t drinking to make herself feel better after her husband laft her for a woman that could give him a baby. She somehow becomes entangled in a missing persons investigation that promises to send shockwaves throughout her life as she discovers the violent truth about her previous partner and how he took advantage of the blackouts she had from her drinking problem to convince her that she was the danger. Rachel puts all the pieces together to discover that her ex-husband is a murderer and tries to save his new wife and baby from him.

This adaption of The Girl On The Trian was so poorly done that I had no emotions for any of the characters involved. I felt very detatched from the story and I don’t think that that is what should happen within the whole “cinema experience”.Β  The personal reason behind my dislike of the film was because it shows a woman being left because she can’t have children which is a huge fear of mine and upon that reveal, I felt uncomfortable for the rest of the film.

4. Doctor Strange

Of course, I was going to see this! I had to! I love Marvel… but much like every Marvel film, although they are good films they are always made out to be better than what they actually are.

Marvel’s “Doctor Strange” follows the story of the neurosurgeon, Doctor Stephen Strange who looses the proper function of his hand in a car accident. He must put ego aside and learn the secrets of a hidden world of mysticism and alternate dimensions in order to heal himself physically using his spirit or find his new place in the world. Based in New York City’s Greenwich Village, Doctor Strange must act as gaurd the real world and what lies beyond, utilising a vast array of metaphysical abilities and artifacts to protect the Marvel Cinematic Universe from the dark forces that lie beyond.

I loved it! Let’s be honest, who doesn’t love Benedict Cumberbatch?!

I did initially expect more from it but I always do with Marvel films because they always get made out to be better than what they are. I’d still recomend it though!

Leave a Reply

