Writing Is My Life!

Writing.

Remember that one kid in English class who loved every assignment that had creative writing or article writing in the description? That kid was me.

I was taught to read and write stories by my Grandmother and Auntie Ada around the age of four and from then on nothing could stop me. It was my favorite hobby and I dreamed of becoming a writer as big a Jaqueline Wilson one day. I admire her and Rosemary-Clement Moore more than anyone in the world. Yes, that is strange for a child to admire writers but I did anyway.

I used to write short stories a lot. My Auntie would come over everytime there was a new one, just to read it. She kept them all.

13245341_271730686510470_7193718419745312788_n

I began writing longer pieces and eventually novels when I started Kepier School. Unfortunately, my Auntie Ada passed away on the 11th February 2009 which meant she never got to see them.

My writing slowed down after her death, due to the fact that I didn’t think there was any point in continuing after that.

But… I remembered a promise I made to her whenever I wrote a story that she thought was great….

14914911_363137290703142_68418823_n

“When you make it as a writer, you need to promise me and your Grandma that you won’t forget about us” – Ada Orrell

Of course, I would have never of forgotten about them.

In 2010 and 2011 I completed NaNoWriMo and where am I now?

It’s coming to the end of 2016 and I’ve got my novel Children Of The Movement released after I signed a publishing contract.

I am currently working on my new novel which will be released next year and I’m doing a number of rewrites of my old work.

I’m also studying Journalism at Birmingham City University so even my future career will include a lot of writing.

12279104_177141499302723_2738961068828579466_n.jpg

I still have my Grandmother’s support and after Ada died she took possession of all my little stories.

I can’t wait to write more!

Keep track of all my work and updates on the following social networking accounts:

DGP.png

 

Leave a Reply

